Holy Week – Easter Week – Day 8 Sunday

It has been my aim this week to provide for you some stimulus for heart and mind. To capture your attention and direct it toward the most important moments in human history. Don’t be fooled this is not a week about culture, life, philosophy, post modern allegiances and religious preferences. This thing. These things – crucifixion & resurrection either happened or they didn’t. If they didn’t, then I need to wrap up this Jesus blog sharpish and start my Fat Donkey weight loss blog. [30 Posts already exist in my head]. I haven’t because I do think they did happen – in time, in history, in a place, and in front of people.

If this Jesus thing is not your bag, I hope it’s because you have considered Christianity’s truth claims and found them wanting (if so please tell me why, so I can depart this possible illusion – dearhumbledonley@gmail.com ). I hope it’s not because you just haven’t got round to it. The story, the reasons, the consequence of this easter week do not run like a side show soap opera. They push themselves front and centre and shout “life and all its questions are held within the life, death and resurrection of the one called Jesus of Nazareth – the eternal divine word made flesh”. Ignore at your peril. Or ignore because it’s a fantasy. There is nothing inbetween.

I am grateful the the sterling work of Justin taylor and his motley crew. Between Two Worlds is my favourite theological blog. Keep the good work up JT.

Final piece from Justin Taylor at Between Two Worlds

The following video, filmed in conjunction with our book The Final Days of Jesus, features short explanations from and interviews with New Testament professors Doug Moo and Andreas Köstenberger on the importance of women being the first to discover the empty tomb and the meaning of Easter Sunday.